Skip to main content

 *Login to view archived PREC content

Mark your calendar for PREC18 - April 5th - 6th 2018


Call for PREC 2018 Papers


The Association of Public Radio Engineers is now accepting proposals for presentations for the 2018 Public Radio Engineering Conference (PREC) to be held April 5th and 6th. This popular conference is in its 18th year and is attended by public radio engineers, operations staff, production personnel, and broadcast management.

This year's theme is loosely based on "Wish I'd known..." and we are looking for presentations that can share knowledge of things that you wish you'd known when starting a project, producing a show, IT systems, or anything broadcast related.  Our goal is to mesh these with manufacturer solutions and educational papers to complement the learning process.  We are looking for presentations technical in nature that are not selling nor promoting a specific product but will educate our audience.  Our audience is highly technical and is looking for solutions to problems, educational enrichment, and innovative ideas to bring back to their stations.  

TIMELINE:  We are accepting proposals through December 1st, 2017.  We will send out acceptance notices at the end of December 2017.

TOPICS:  including but not limited to - RF theory and innovations of antennas & transmitters; audio production techniques and solutions; operations including automation and traffic systems; STLs and studio links; console technology; SNMP; virtualization; digital services including video, streaming, podcasting, news coverage and more.

DETAILS:  Session slots are typically 30-45 minutes with an additional 10 minute Q&A period at the end of the presentation.  

WHEN/WHERE: Las Vegas at the Tuscany Suites, April 5-6th 2018, the Thursday and Friday prior to NAB.

CONTACT:  You may send your presentation proposals to where it will be reviewed by the presentations committee for possible selection. 

We look forward to hearing from you!

Dan Houg

APRE Presentations Committee Chair

2017 Public Radio Engineering Conference


The 2017 Public Radio Engineering Conference
was generously supported by:

APRE thanks our sustaining members: